Be Official!

The official gestures for penalties.

The official gestures for penalties.

The game of lacrosse is said to be the fastest game on two feet and it’s growing at the same pace that it is played. Lacrosse is spreading across the world. In 1972 the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) consisted of just 5 members. It’s popularity has since exploded across 6 continents expanding to a current 45 different nations recognised as playing the game.

It’s popularity is not surprising; it is one of the few games that rewards players for having great physical strength but equally values the importance of skill with the stick (or crosse if you are that old). What is hard to believe is that it hadn’t spread earlier. Having said that the technology used within all areas of the sport, protective equipment in-particularly, has made the game the more enjoyable to play than it has ever been. But countries need to facilitate this growth. How?

By encouraging more players to officiate or coach.

Now, I have no experience of coaching but it’s importance to the sport is a no brainer. You need someone to guide teams to success. Someone to focus a teams training on areas of weakness so that they can better themselves. Now until I have tried my hand at it that is all I have to say.

Officiating, aka refereeing often contracted to reffing, is far less glamourous than playing or even coaching; It’s return, however, is far more conducive in terms of allowing matches to take part across the country, it also improves your game as you learn the intricate in’s and out’s of the sport. My perspective on this comes from being injured and being asked to be CBO (chief bench official). I was of course quite reluctant to do so, I had only played one season and hadn’t been on any officiating courses. I deemed myself quite under qualified. Thankfully the referee on this occasion was Tom Slade.

I must explain to anybody reading this who isn’t familiar with officiating guidelines that the FIL have produced which state that the officiating bench must consist of no less than 5 different positions. However, this is rather ambitious at our level of play since they would all have to be paid for from extremely limited club funds. Furthermore, it is especially problematic in Aberystwyth as it is so isolated from any other major area of civilisation (we are lucky if our rivals turn up to our home matches). Ultimately the role of an Aberystywth CBO combines the standard role Chief Bench Official but also Bench Manager, Game Timekeeper, Two Scorers (one of whom is the Official Scorer) and Two Penalty Timekeepers. It sounds a lot but in actual fact if you are vigilant then theres no reason all those roles can’t be completed.

Back to how Mr Tom Slade saved my hide. Tom is a full international referee and qualified in 2008 at the European Championships in Lahti, Finland. Since then he has officiated across the UK and most notably, in the 2010 World Championships in Manchester. I was therefore, privileged enough to receive the “Tom Slade’s 25 minute crash course in CBO’ing” it covered everything leaving no “CBO stone” unturned (DVD to come soon!). The only limiting factors were whether  I remembered it all and my level of confidence to throw a flag or to make a call. Then without any further instruction the match began!

Right, it was my first time and I was far from perfect but I loved it. As a bonus I was not forcibly removed from my position of responsibility. Instead of standing on the sidelines watching my team mates, thinking about what I would have done differently and scouting my options had I been in possession of the ball, I was actively involved. I was watching the game but my mind was completely focussed on what I was supposed to be doing. I mean, yeah, sure some guys may have been held in penalties a couple of seconds longer than they should’ve as I fumbled between two different penalties and tried to keep my eye on the offsides. And perhaps a few less than perfect substitutions occurred. It was my first time and there are areas to improve upon.

Despite minor failings, I really enjoyed taking part as an official. It is one thing to know the rules to not break them as a player, but it is  completely different thing to know the rules well enough and be confident enough to make a decision against either of the teams playing. As a player if you don’t no the rules you are only going to disadvantage yourself and the team but as a referee you have a much greater responsibility to make the right call for both teams. With regards to this, all players should respect the referee and honour his decision or gracefully object.

I would greatly recommend any player to take up a refereeing course, I know I will. Not only will you be serving your sport but you will also improve your knowledge of the game, THAT is invaluable to any enthusiastic lacrosse player.

So remember, get involved and be an official…  or coach.

**Update** There is currently no plans to release the “Tom Slade’s 25 minute crash course in CBO’ing” DVD. However, it may emerge through popular demand!

Posted on February 8, 2013, in General Lacrosse, Home, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment