My Love Story with Faceoff’s and the New York Lizards!

NYLizards

The MLL (Major Lacrosse League) is just around the corner with the first game facing off between the Denver Outlaws and the Charlotte Hounds on April 27th. The game I’m excited to see is the New York Lizards’ (formerly Long Island Lizards recently rebranded) first match against the Boston Cannons. Anybody who knows me knows that I am a huge Lizards fan. Some of you are probably wondering how a guy that lives on the end of the River Thames and attends university on West Coast of Wales becomes such a fan of the lacrosse team operating out of the Big Apple!

Lizards Cannons

Eagerly Anticipated!

It all started when I was first learning how to play the game and trying to find my place in the team. I wasn’t particularly good at anything in the beginning. I had some speed and athleticism about me, which I would put down to playing football (soccer) and athletics at school, this sort of lead me into a midfield role; after that I just had to practice with the stick. Over time it became apparent that I wasn’t a natural born shooter but better at distributing the ball. There are two positions where a good ball distributor can be useful; one is behind goal the second is at the face off X. It wasn’t until my first Welsh university trials (which collates all players from the Welsh Uni’s to form a team) that I tried my hand at a face off. I instantly fell in love with it. There was something about utilizing that controlled aggression and strength I had learnt whilst playing left back on my football team that really drew me in. I was definitely not good enough to start any matches yet but I was keen to learn and get better. This is the point where I truly became aware of, quite frankly, my favourite lacrosse player ever and the Long Island Lizards.

Greg "The Beast" Gurenlian

Greg “The Beast” Gurenlian

The player I’m referring to is the MLL leader with 230 face off wins of 2012, the “Beast”, Greg Gurenlian. When sifting through the Internet on face-off technique this man seemed to dominate all. I found some tutorial videos from another renowned face off guy, Chris Eck (Boston Cannons) and what he said made sense. I then moved on and found Mr Anthony Kelly explaining the basics and what he said also made perfect sense. It was only when I went to search for game footage of these other players did I see Greg Gurenlian. He seemed to be a common denominator in these videos, as the guy that regularly beats them! So whilst Chris Eck and Anthony Kelly know what they are talking about and are very good, it is actually Greg Gurenlian that puts the technique in to practice most efficiently. After watching interviews, footage of Greg in action and reading his blog it has given me an impression of an athlete with an extremely passionate work ethic and all round decent guy, as well as an absolute powerhouse on the face-off. If ever I was going to model my role in my team on a professional athlete he seems to be a solid choice. As such it was through following Greg that I watched more and more of the Lizards.

Just as an aside here, if you are looking to get better at playing a particular position or technique look to the pros, find a guy that you like and basically study them. If you can fully understand the mechanics or theory behind something then it’s only a lack of experience that can hold you back. You would have done all you can all that’s left is to practice.

For someone relatively new to lacrosse I was familiar with the big names in the game. If you google ‘lacrosse’ their names pop up pretty darn quick, players like Rabil, Harrison and of course the Powells. But I suddenly became aware of some awesome players that play an amazing game but hadn’t been elevated to this god like status, players like Max Seibald, Stephen Peyser and Brian Langtry. I found myself excited seeing these players take to the field. Perhaps it was an absence of a mega star player that made me like the Long Island Lizards, I fancied them as the strong underdog, last year my faith in them was rewarded by the 5-0 winning streak mid-season and making playoff’s.

Max Seibald turning on the jets!

Max Seibald turning on the jets!

This year I fancy them for the title. Not only do they retain most of the players that took them to the playoffs but they have Greg Gurenlian, who had a limited preseason training due a knee operation, this year he has been able to complete his full preseason training schedule. Furthermore, the collegiate draft and clever trades have been extremely kind to the Lizards gaining Rob Pannell, Mark Matthews and Stephen Berger. These new additions hopefully, can provide sustained firepower throughout those tougher matches. There will be some that know I have the Lizards vs Outlaws playoff match in mind when I talk about sustained firepower where the Outlaws, trailing 12-3 with 11:32 left in the third, came back to win the game. On the day, the Lizards couldn’t break the Outlaws’ ten goal run but maybe a change up in the roster will allow them to change their game play more fluidly.

Probably my most prized lacrosse possession other than my spoons.

Probably my most prized lacrosse possession… other than my spoons, of course.

2013 looks to be an interesting year for the New York Lizards and I can’t wait to see what the season brings.

Posted on April 9, 2013, in General Lacrosse, Home, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Outlaws are going to win, sorry to disappoint

  2. Each to their own, I will just be standing here looking smug when they don’t.

Leave a comment